Hic Sunt Dracones

the smylere with the knyf under the cloke

Fez Knows Mandalorian, Klingon, Quenya, Cthonic the Language of the Elder Gods

with 2 comments

Mew!

Black Cat by Blitzenius

Finally Facebook forced me to accept their new “Myspace” layout. Next week they’ll forced feed me with gibberish status update.

I’m glad there’s still humour in the coding department.

+++

My last entry seemed like I’m overtly enthusiastic with my old job. Whereas, the faster I finished up the task. The earlier I could take my break for the Laneway Festival in Singapore.

I know that I can’t digest the whole information in a week to create the database from zero and I don’t dare to set my own dateline before the music festival. Thus, I’m pretty much pessimistic about my presence to the festival.

At least there’s still Deftones and MGMT to look forward to.

+++

Freelancing is fun, and scary world of responsibilities.

I’m half-way being the Subsea Engineer with a part-timer job as cinematographer, but nowhere near the 2-axis motion time-lapse videographer that I wanted to be.

February will be the month I collected few time-lapse shot of the urban cities and the rural areas for my portfolio.

March to June, a 3 month spells of HDSLR production work with Astro.

July to September, course work at TWI, Thailand or Scotland for CSWIP 3.4U Underwater Inspection Controller.

October to December, offshore work at Turkmenistan or oversea cinematography work with Manggis.tv — again.

+++

I’ll ask her out.

Written by cthulhu

January 19, 2011 at 1:07 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So does 2-axis motion time-lapse videographer pay better? : D

    Follow your passion (well I am supposed to say this to myself…)

    zzeed

    September 1, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    • Since it’s a niche market. I still can say yes.

      I’m engaging for two weeks time-lapse shoot with Astro this month. The benchmark is U2 360° Tour: The Claw Stage Construction and Deconstruction Time-Lapse.

      My initial budget for this is RM40k with full use of pan & tilt motorized head, but slashed to RM30k due to financial restriction on Astro part.

      In financial term, any average field engineer can get a good RM10-15k per month in Malaysian market standard.

      My work however isn’t considered high-end in technicality of complex offshore work. Most of the time I only applying the Boyle’s Law, PV=c; Charles Law; Dalton’s Law of Partial Pressures; Henry’s Law, Solution of gases in liquids; and Archimedes Principle of Buoyancy in the diving calculation. There isn’t much challenge and additional training, unless I purse more in the ROV field — which the current job market is saturated at this time.

      The additional TWI Training (it’s currently available at Sg. Buloh) might come in handy. CSWIP 3.4U Underwater Inspection Controller would comprises more on NDT understanding and data correlation.

      Time-Lapse videographer can make a good money, if you have a good pay-master that is. For this 6 month alone, I manage to make RM50k (gross figure) out of this “hobby”, I consider myself lucky for the opportunity.

      For a better future, I’m sticking with offshore engineering — freelancing still.

      cthulhu

      September 3, 2011 at 5:07 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

