Hic Sunt Dracones

the smylere with the knyf under the cloke

Aunt May’s Ring So Worn, As Peter Parker Beholds

The ring so worn, as you behold,
So thin, so pale, is yet of gold.
George Crabbe (1754–1832), British poet and clergyman. “His Mother’s Wedding-Ring”.

Something that I would never see the light of day with [her] and her:

[Meteor showers cross the illuminated night sky as MJ and PP lays on the spider-web, entangling the trees.]

Mary Jane & Peter Parker - Romance

MJ: You know what?

PP: Hmm…

MJ: I like to sing on stage for the rest of my life, with you on the first row.

PP: I’ll be there.

MJ: Tell me you love me.

PP: I love you. I love you so much. I always have.

[They kiss aloft, as love is in the air.]

[Doorbell rings. AM opens the door, alarmed as she sees PP at the door.]

Aunt May & Peter Parker - Reminiscence

AM: Peter, what is it?

PP: It’s MJ. I’m going to ask her to marry me.

AM: Ah, Peter.

[AM preparing PP a cup of coffee, as she pours the drink and the milk as she reminisces about her past.]

AM: I hope you consider a proper proposal. Your uncle had it all planned. He took me to the beach one Sunday. Oh, he was a knockout in his bathing suit. And I probably look too bad on myself. We’re very good swimmer. It’s very beautiful day. And he said let’s swim to the island. At the island, we found a perfect spot by an old tree. And we laid down, and look up at the sky. And then he said, “Close your eyes, May.” And I did. And then he said, “Open.” And I did. And he was holding this ring. Dazzling. In front of me. I thought it was the sun. We had been married 50 years. Come August…if…

[Her voice trails off as she holds the sob inside her chest.]

Aunt May & Peter Parker - The Ring

AM: So…I hope you make it very special for MJ. Do something she never forgets. Give her this. Come on. Take it.

[PP takes it albeit reluctantly. Both embraces coming to term of the future that awaits and the past that been buried.]

+++

Sam Raimi’s in-joke in a scene of Peter Parker’s “flying” ring (Spiderman 3) that echoes the Prancing Pony Inn incident with Frodo’s “gravitating” ring (Lord of the Rings: Fellowships of the Rings):

Precious

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
–J. R. R. Tolkien (1892–1973), The Lord of the Rings.

[Source: Spiderman 3 and Lord of the Rings: Fellowships of the Rings]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Written by cthulhu

April 21, 2007 at 12:16 pm

Posted in films and video

