Hic Sunt Dracones

the smylere with the knyf under the cloke

Deus Ex

Have you ever question your faith? I, myself tampering with the quasi-atheism theme before. I been seeing Richard Dawkins’s lectures on God Delusion, living the past in corrupted “Muslim-secular” Johor monarch — that repress my divine devotion — and presenting myself as an awkward symbiotic entity between heaven and earth.

In the calmness of time, I can’t stop questioning things logically in my own mortal perspective:

Why there’s so much hatred in peace loving religion? Why there’s the blinded faith in their corrupted monarch? Why the need of hypercritical approach in other cluster of our own brethren, when their faith is still to One?

In the turbulence of time, faith is as easy as a blinking eyes.

I read Francis Collins (of the Human Genome Project, and a Christian) interview with John Horgan (an agnostic science writer) with much esteem.

…we shouldn’t judge the pure truths of faith by the way they are applied any more than we should judge the pure truth of love by an abusive marriage. We as children of God have been given by God this knowledge of right and wrong, this Moral Law, which I see as a particularly compelling signpost to his existence. But we also have this thing called free will, which we exercise all the time to break that law. We shouldn’t blame faith for the ways people distort it and misuse it.”

Francis Collins point out what others (like me) inferred out of own misfortune to attribute to their loss of faith. Loss of divine love and mortal love.

How much do you love a person when already humanity turns back on you? How much do you in love with your soul mate when your previous relationship is on deceitful path? How much you love him/her as future partner of life when your family’s marriage is a fraught of sham, abusive and naught of affection?

How much you love yourself, re-invent yourself when your inner mind contemplating nihilism and apathy?

Yes, you call that “cop out”.

“…you called agnosticism a “cop-out.” Agnosticism doesn’t mean you’re lazy or don’t care. It means you aren’t satisfied with any answers for what after all are ultimate mysteries.”

John Horgan confronted Francis Collins accusation. No, I’m not going to acquit myself of being a sloth. I’m a sloth, or what she (was about to type my gf, but then there’s a distinct line of that role to me and her) affectionately call me, a panda. I’m digressing to my personal relationship now. Sloth or panda maybe, still I’m looking for my own self-esteem, my own strength within this boundary of your life and my life. Since our world shalt not collide in matrimonial chain, I’m in the gravity pull of imaginary axis of phantom domain. I didn’t need illusion of grandeur to feed my own ego, suffice with her, I taste grandiose of being in love. Even with characterizing her as a gf, her role is not limited to mere facile affection. Her existence nevertheless fleetingly physical, ubiquitous in metaverse, pervasive in splinter of mind. I dare say this is equally a destructive and passionate relationship, resulting to my own suffering.

“…does religion require suffering? Could we reduce suffering to the point where we just won’t need religion?”

How much do I hold to her as mortal love, and to Him as eternal love?

To matter at hand, this is scientific (and metaphysics) argument after all.

On genetics, the scientist of the Human Genome Project said: medical advances and made it possible to live longer and eradicate diseases.

The science writer even argued that genetic engineering may give us superhuman intelligence and greatly extended life spans, perhaps even immortality.

Reminds me of Heroes. {{{(>.<)}}} (o.o) \(^o^)/

On humanity, they both might admit our failure as human: we will probably still figure out ways to argue with each other and sometimes to kill each other.

Love thyself, love thy neighbour, love Him. But I can only do so much…

+++

Read the preface, and proceed to the interview at source’s link.

Francis Collins: The Scientist as Believer

The often strained relationship between science and religion has become particularly combative lately. In one corner we have scientists such as Richard Dawkins and Steven Pinker who view religion as a relic of our superstitious, prescientific past that humanity should abandon. In the other corner are religious believers who charge that science is morally nihilistic and inadequate for understanding the wonders of existence. Into this breach steps Francis Collins, who offers himself as proof that science and religion can be reconciled. As leader of the Human Genome Project, Collins is among the world’s most important scientists, the head of a multibillion-dollar research program aimed at understanding human nature and healing our innate disorders. And yet in his best-selling book, The Language of God, he recounts how he accepted Christ as his savior in 1978 and has been a devout Christian ever since. “The God of the Bible is also the God of the genome,” he writes. “He can be worshiped in the cathedral or in the laboratory.” Recently Collins discussed his faith with science writer John Horgan, who has explored the boundaries between science and spirituality in his own books The End of Science and Rational Mysticism. Horgan, who has described himself as “an agnostic increasingly disturbed by religion’s influence on human affairs,” directs the Center for Science Writings at the Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, New Jersey.

Interviewed by John Horgan

[Source: National Geographic Magazine February 2007]

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Written by cthulhu

May 14, 2007 at 11:37 pm

